The Roma Project – Lubos

“My dad was Czech. I know nothing about him – my mum just told me that he had loads of tattoos and was often in prison. They had a short fling but then she went back to my sister’s father. When I was born it was quite clear that I had lighter skin than the rest of the family. At school in Czech the teachers used to call me things like ‘you dirty Gypsy boy.’ But then I got bullied by the other Roma kids, and at home when I was beaten by my brothers or mum or step-dad, they’d call me ‘gadjo’ – non-Gypsy.”

A visual narrative project by Ciara Leeming here.

Leave a Reply

